Medals Galore for Aussie Team at ICF Ocean Racing Worlds

Vaikobi's Aussie Team came home with plenty of medals after the ICF Ocean Racing Worlds in Portugal.

In the Overall Men's Title, Vaikobi's Tim Jacobs paddled what he termed as the "hardest and most honest" race to finish 2nd behind South Africa's Sean Rice, who emerged as the inaugural World Champion. Aussie Cory Hill finished behind TJ to claim remaining place on the podium. Well done guys and I am sure this has fuelled TJ to go one better next year.


Other Medals were earned for the Australian Team by Julie Jenkinson (Women Gold Masters 45-49) Michael Booth (U/23 Bronze), Jim Walker (Silver Master 40-44), TK (Silver Masters 60-64)

The Doubles were held on Day 2 and due to lack of boats, the event was split up to accommodate all.

In the Mens Doubles, Tom Norton and Michael Booth teamed up to claim silver.

In the Mixed Doubles exhibition race, Tim Jacobs teamed up with SouthAfrica's new Womens World Champ, Michelle Eray. In the final sprint to the finished with TJ and Eray overtaking, Jasper & Nikki Mocke impeded their run to the finish and were subsequently disqualified after hitting the beach ahead of the TJ / Eray combo. Congratulations to Tim and Michelle.

Doubles ClashDoubles winners

Overall it was a fantastic effort by the Australian Team in an overall field of 380 competitors. Congratulations to all who represented their country at this first World Championship.

Photo's courtesy of Portugal ICF Ocean Racing Worlds and

Australian  Team Overall Results Below:

Tim Jacobs, 2nd

Sam Norton 3rd

Michael Booth 11th (3rd U/23)

Greg Tobin 17th

Mark Anderson 20th

Jim Walker 29th (2nd Masters 40-44)

Mackenzie Hynard 34th (6th U/23)

Sam Djodan 43rd

David Tudor Jones 44th (4th Masters 40-44)

Tommy Woodriff 47th

Luke OGarey 72th

Peter Hinds 75th

Nick Wagner 84th

Rob Jenkinson 99th

Richard Eadie 110th

Michael Rawson 116th

Joey Joseph 134th

Craig Graham 152nd

Tony King 170th

Hannah Minogue 180th (9th Womens)

Julie Jenkinson 221 (1st Womens Master 45-49)

Bridgett Little 237

Jamie Brinkworth 244th

Neil Carlyle 248

Tim Hookins 268th

Sean Mackenzie 274th



Also in News